create a form for an update query

accessHel

help!!!
I am new to access .. I've already done several queries for a certain table (books). and i am able to create forms for them. but what about creating a form for an update query (set.. where..)
any suggestion how to do that? any clarified steps!!
thanks in advance

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
What do you need to do? Are you updating a price list, for example, or trying to place a calculation in a table?

You can't base a form on an action query (Update, Delete, Append or Make-Table) because they don't return recordsets (rows and columns) like standard Select queries do.
What you can do is create some code behind a command button to run the update query.

These are the steps that I would use to build it using the interface:
Say that MyForm has SomeTextbox, which you want to use as a parameter in a query.
Build the query, placing the field that you want to update in the grid. If the parameter is based on a different field place that in the grid too, but clear the checkbox so it doesn't display.
In the Criteria row for your filter field type [Forms]![MyForm]![MyTextbox] (change to suit the actual names), then make sure that the form is open and has a valid value in the textbox, and run the query.
If it's giving you the data you expect, convert it to an Update query. Go to design view in the query. In 2007 or 2010, select Update from the Design tab. In 2003 or lower, pick Update from the Query menu.
Now edit the Update row in the grid to give you the value or calculation that you want to update your field to. Save the query as qupdChangeData (or equivalent; I use a range of prefixes for queries so I know what they do. It groups them in the navigation, convenient when searching through huge numbers of objects).