Puzzle ?

Franz

Board Regular
I have a worksheet ("master") with a macro that allows a user to make many cloaned worksheets (but renamed) within the same workbook. I want to take the same cell value(N4)on each new worksheet and use a formula on the "master" to obtain a SUM of all the N4 values.

The problem is I will never know how many cloans were created and what the user named them. Can this be done or am I asking to much?

Thanks for anyone who can help!
See my other post "Copy and Rename Worksheets"

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
hi Franz

one possible solution would be to place blank 'dummy' sheets as the beginning and ending sheets in your workbook - you could call them 'first' and 'last' or something along those lines - then you could have a formula like this:

=SUM(first:last!N4)

which would sum the values in cell N4 in all sheets located between the 'first' sheet and the 'last' sheet, regardless of how many sheets there are or what you name them. would this work for you?

hth
kevin

Upvote 0
This would probably work fairly well as long as the user does not play around with the sheet tabs.I would need a macro to insert a blank sheet called "end" as the last worksheet in the series and at the same time place the SUM formula in a cell on the first worksheet which will be called "Estimate". Can you help?Thanks.

Upvote 0
hi franz

i came up with a different idea using vba so that you would not have to insert any blank sheets:

Code:
Sub sumallsheets()
lastwks = Worksheets.Count
firstsheet = Worksheets(1).Name
lastsheet = Worksheets(lastwks).Name
[a1].Value = "=sum(" & firstsheet & ":" & lastsheet & "!N4)"
End Sub

in this code, 'lastwks' equals the total number of worksheets in the workbook,