Please help - formula query

TonyW1234

Hi all,

I currently have to display a large amount of data on a separate report. I have a master sheet which has columns and cells linked to another sheet, then a further sheet which has cells linked to the master sheet. The problem I am getting is when I link some of the date columns using a formula in the 3rd sheet, as this is looking at a cell that has another formula in on the other sheet it is displaying a date of 00/01/1900 if the value is zero, is there any easier way of getting the data to just display a blank as this is messing up the database it is being exported to.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Tony

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
Tony,

It might suit to populate your 3rd sheet without using formulas at all. When working with data tables there is database-type functionality within Excel. Tables can be joined like in a relational database. This might then return you a true null (instead of zeros) and be better suited to loading to the database. For example, refer to 'external data' within Excel help, and the menu data, import external data, new database query, etc. External data can come from the same file, it doesn't have to be from a separate workbook.

HTH, Fazza

Upvote 0
Fazza, what's your preference if you are pulling data into an Excel file from another Excel file -- using Get External Data..., or writing an ADO procedure.

I am finding ADO so easy to use that I don't even want to bother with the MSQuery tools - but perhaps once you define a data source using Get External Data would also be quite fast to access repeatedly. Do you have any strong opinions here?

Regards.

Upvote 0
Hi, Alexander.

No strong opinions. Agree very much with your comments.