First time forum user

Ken L.

Hello,
I am just a beginner with excel 2007

I am trying to build a simple spreadsheet to pay my 6 year old daughter allowance and teach her about math.

My problem is I cannot figure out how to add currency in the cell with text and then have the totals added up at the bottom of the page.

I would like to add currency figure on each chore on the second page and then when I use the drop down list on the first page it will say (make bed $.50) and at the end of each day add up the totals for all the cells under chores completed and then at the end of the week add up all the days for her grand total allowance.

I hopefully will come up with a nice spreadsheet that will also teach my children about work, since I have a 15 month old son I will get good usage out of this spread sheet.

I can E-mail the spreadsheet if anybody needs to see it to help me out.
My E-mail is Removed e-mail address - Moderator

Thank you,

Ken
<!-- / message -->

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
If you'd like you can upload your file to a free hosting site, like MediaFire: http://www.mediafire.com/ (no need to sign up for an account, just browse and upload anonymously). Then post the link it gives you to the forum and someone can assist you.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

Sounds like a great idea (I have a 4 year-old). I'd suggest using a VLOOKUP table with data validation.

Here's an example:
Book1
ABCD
1ChoreAllowance
2Make Bed$0.50
3Change brother's diaper$5.00
4Feed Cat$0.25
5Feed Dog$0.35
7Lookup
8Change brother's diaper$5.00
Sheet1