Please help me to start the subroutine

anniehung

Hello, I am a complete newbie on VBA, so please help me to start.
Basically, I have to maximize

∑[θx* ln qx +(Ex-θx)* ln px] (where x is the subscript, denote the age)

θx and Ex are known,
I would like to model qx= Bc^x
and px=(1-qx)

I believe by using the VBA, subroutine function,
I would be able to get a good estimation of the unknown parameter B and c.
But would anyone suggest me how to start?
Thank you very much.

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.
That looks a variant of some sort of statistical problem, regression variant perhaps.

I think you should be more specific about just what you are aiming for.

Such as, what do you mean by “model qx=Bc^x”? Model it to do what? Doesn’t that equation model it already?

As your problem stands, there’s no need to use VBA to maximize the summation expression you give. All you need to do is prespecify c at some suitable value, then make B as large as you like (unbounded) whereby you can thereby make the summation as large as you like.

Some more indication as to the origins, particularly statistical origins, of the problem would help a lot towards devising a solution, or outlining a suitable VBA approach, that would keep you happy.

Upvote 0
Thank you very much for the quick reply.
Basically, I have the mortality data of 2000-2004, and I would like to apply graduation by using mathematical formulae.
One of the formula is qx=Bc^x, where B and c are unknown.
Which means, I would like to find the parameters, B and c such that it will fit the model the best.
I start off with maximum likelihood approach, but this is not going anywhere, is it s too complicated.
The textbook recommends to use a subroutine method, but I have no idea what it is.

Upvote 0
OK.