Advice Needed

nyydynasty

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey all -

I'm looking for some advice so I appreciate your patience while I explain the situation.

I'm an IT manager and we're working on upgrading hundreds of corporate laptops over the next 6 + months across the entire US (not just for local users). The business is giving me an Excel spreadsheet with employee names, laptop serial numbers, their choice of laptop model upgrade, and some other information.

What I need to do is come up with a way to track everything:

1) have we contacted the employee to confirm which laptop model they want for their upgrade?
1a) If yes, then I need to track the date of first contact.
1b) if we contacted them, I need to track how long it takes for them to respond (i.e. their response date)

2) have we contacted them once we start their upgrade to request passwords and other required information?
2a) if so, when did we contact them (i.e. again, our contact date)
2b) just like the first one, we need to track how long it takes for them to respond (i.e. their response date).

3) once we complete the upgrade, we'll be shipping the laptop so I need to track shipping details such as tracking # and tracking date
3a) after the user receives the upgrade, have we followed up with them to ensure everything is good to go (i.e. follow up date)

I was originally thinking of not overly complicating this project and just add columns to an Excel spreadsheet for each of these items and having my team input all these details manually but am I not considering an easier or more efficient way of doing this? I'm not a Microsoft Apps expert but I thought maybe there's an easier way to do this using Access or something like that.

My corporate account does have access to M365 apps but I have to check what exactly I have access to.

Thank you for any help you can provide. If not....well, thanks anyway :)

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year