Approximately how long do you think would take me to learn Power Query?

NRF95

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello! I’ve been using Microsoft Excel on daily basis for almost 4 years now for my job as Risk Analytics Manager. The thing is that using power query or power pivot has never been mandatory in order to fulfil my tasks, but i understand that these tools would make my life so much easier if i start using them and implement them into my work. I can use all kinds of complex functions and formulas, pivot tables and so on. Simple macros as well.

I understand that it varies from person to person, but how long would you say it would take me to learn using power queries and power pivots? I’m not talking about how long to become an expert of them, more like getting a hold of them and being able to use them on work level. There’s new analyst opening which requires proficient excel skills, which i dare say i posses if we exclude the power tools and it says that additionally they require knowledge and some experience with power queries, power pivots and/or power BI.

Thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
The basics are easy and might take an hour or so. Getting used to the UI (which is very good) and how Power Query works - it's column based unlike Excel that allows a lot of freedom, might take another hour. After that, years - but that's just like Excel. There's ALWAYS something to learn!
Mr. Excel has an great playlist here, and Mike G on the ExcelIsFun YT channel has a complete college course here with sample before and after files for every lesson.
Don't be intimidated! I was doing complex reconciliations for tens of thousands of items with different source files that would take me a day to a day and a half before I retired. Had I known Power Query, that work would have taken an hour or two!