Automatic VBA Code Generator (Add In?)

Bluehawaii524

Have any of you ever used an add in such as AutoMacro to assist in generating VBA code for macros? I'm a beginner, but I've been learning and researching through many different forums (like this one- thank you!) as well as youtube videos and whatnot. But as you know, the macro recorder doesn't help a lot, and VBA is not intuitive, and it's slow to learn. I have a ton of tasks that my predecessor used to do by hand, and are now very backed up. I know enough about VBA to know that I can do all of this with just one click. Part of my problem is that sometimes I'm not quite sure what to search for in order to identify the code(s) that can help me complete a task. This add in sounds like a beginner's dream come true, so any advice you can give me on it or other add ins that are worth researching would be much appreciated!

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
Macro recoding from with excel is very easy. Once you have the basics recorded you can learn to refine. Some recorded actions will fail, and some actions don't record, but I think that is far more preferable to the software I just viewed (paid for). You will learn from your actions, not from a program that records like a keylogger (IMHO)

any output macro you can paste here and discuss how to optimize it

Upvote 0
I have to agree with mole999. The 'built in' macro recorder found within Excel is as productive as the software you are looking at. And it's free.

Key features:

• Record and repeat all mouse and keyboard actions (Excel does this as well)
  • Find and click image on the screen with Smart Click (Excel does this as well - if you click on something while recording a macro, those actions are recorded and included in the macro code)