Automating copying of columns within same sheet in excel using VBA.

pk970

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi All,

I am very new in VBA and I have came across a situation in my project where I need to use VBA to copy columns within the sheet and then replace the same columns with other data. I will try to explain the situation as much as I can in description.
I have an excel workbook which consists of approximately 25 tabs of different business units and all tabs have approximately more than 40 columns.
Lets assume 1 sheet for this case and name it as "Sheet1". Sheet1 has data from columns A-G which is of current week, H-O which has data from last week and Q-V which has comparison between current week and last week.
The column header is same for A-G and H-O
Now every week when we publish the report, we need to follow few steps.

1) We need to copy data from A-G and paste as value in H-O. Pasting as value is very important.

2) Value A-G is based on formulas which is already there. There is another sheet lets say "Sheet2" in which we need to copy data from a different worksheet and as I copy data in "Sheet2" then based on formulas column A-G will get updated in "Sheet1".

3) Now the issue is that since we have copied data from column A-G and pasted as value in column H-O, then when step 2 is applied will the data in column A-G will become equal to data in column H-O??

Also when need a solution to copy data into "Sheet2" from a different workbook assuming all the data headers remain same.
Any help will be appreciated. Its a client project and data is really sensitive so I cannot even upload the screenshot of the file and I have never worked in VBA but this is immediate requirement.

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"