Creating a table from multiple PivotTables usable for making a report sheet

maxveller

Hi Excel Forum, this is my first post.

I'm in deep need of help. I work as a student helper, and my job is to create reports for each of the departments of the school I work for. These reports include showing the changes in Headcounts from quarter to quarter and the distribution of the different professions for each department.

I have created a Pivot Table for each quarter I have data for. Now I need to find a way to "combine" these Pivots in such a way, that I will be able to show the changes that happen from quarter to quarter in each department. I want the row labels to include each sub-department (there can be more sub-departments in quarter 2 than quarter 1 and this has to update automatically) and I want the column labels to state each quarter with the corresponding data down through the columns.

I am currently working in Excel 2010 as this is the version used by my boss and coworkers.

I have been fiddling around with this for so long and I am yet to find a solution to my problem.

Every attempt of helping me will be much appreciated!

- Max

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Hey,

generally I think it would be easier to merge your rawdata and create one Pivot table from there instead of merging several Pivot tables.

And to actually help some actual data would be helpful. A mocked up sheet of your rawdata and a sheet with your desired results. That would take away lot of the guessing.

But I am new here too, so maybe somebody else can be more helpful with the Info available.

Julian

Upvote 0
Hi again - thanks for the reply!

I'm not sure merging the data will be a suitable solution. I've been working on a dummy-sheet that you can take a look at. It pretty much describes my situation.

Link to file:
http://www.filedropper.com/dummy-file-pivottables