DAX equivalent of pivot table calculated field that divides 1 column by another

kcmuppet

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

It seems calculated fields are greyed out if your data source for a pivot table is a power query that has was created with the option 'Add to Data Model' selected.

In that case how do I achieve (in DAX?) the equivalent of adding a calculated field that simply divides one column by another to effectively show a percentage.

For example, for a pivot table that has Department names as rows, a field counting staff, I'd like to add a calculated field that is a count of the staff who have completed training and show it as a % of the count of the staff in that department - i.e.

Department​
Staff (count by department)​
Sum if Date Completed Training is not blank​
Completed Training​
Department 1​
33​
17​
52%​
Department 2​
23​
21​
91%​
Department 3​
67​
15​
22%​

Could somebody point me in the right direction (I'm completely new to DAX)

Thanks

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
What does the source data look like? Your second data column appears to be a sum rather than a count, judging by its title.

Generally you would create an explicit measure for each of the two fields, then create a third measure that simply divides one measure by the other.

Upvote 0
Hi, thanks for your reply.

The source data would be like this (M example below):

User IDDepartmentDate training completed
User ID 1Department 1
10-Mar​
User ID 2Department 2
22-Jan​
User ID 3Department 3
User ID 4Department 2
User ID 5Department 3
11-Feb​
User ID 6Department 1
User ID 7Department 2
10-Mar​
User ID 8Department 3
User ID 9Department 3

Power Query:
let