Error btw Mac Excel 2003 and PC Excel 2007: "Run-time error '9' Subscript out of range"

kachunyu

Hi,

I have a Excel/VBA script written 5-6 years ago on a Mac running Excel -- probably 2003. (It is not an option to go back and work on that Mac and software version.) I need to get this to run in Excel 2007 on a PC.

This is my first time debugging VBA scripts. I've been able to remove some Mac-specific syntax that was causing problems. However I've run into a wall with a "Run-time error '9' Subscript out of range" error that has halted my progress.

As a novice at this, I may be including much more than is necessary so please bear with me. First the main script do_all_test() immediately calls multiple sub procedures:

Code:
Sub do_all_test()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
get_all_file_names_auto
open_files
create_temp_name_list
The first queries the user for input Excel file(s):

Code:
Sub get_all_file_names_auto()
Sheets.Add Type:="Worksheet"
ActiveSheet.Name = "TEMP"
num_files = InputBox("How many files are being analyze?")
For i = 1 To num_files
    filepath = Application.GetOpenFilename("Excel-files,*.xls", 1, "Select one file to open", , False)
    Sheets("TEMP").Cells(nextRow, 1) = filepath
    For j = 1 To 100
        If Mid(filepath, Len(filepath) - j, 1) = ":" Then
            Exit For
        End If
    Next j
    Sheets("TEMP").Cells(nextRow, 2) = Mid(filepath, 1, 1000)
    nextRow = nextRow + 1
Next i
Sheets("TEMP").Range("A1").Select
Do Until ActiveCell.Value = ""
    If ActiveCell.Value = ActiveWorkbook.Name Then
        ActiveCell.EntireRow.Delete shift:=xlUp
    End If
    ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Select
Loop
Sheets("TEMP").Range("A1").Select
Error:
End Sub
The next procedure opens the file(s):

Code:
Sub open_files()
this_file = ThisWorkbook.Name
For x = 1 To num_files
    Sheets("TEMP").Range(Cells(x, 1), Cells(x, 1)).Select
    Workbooks.Open Filename:=ActiveCell.Value
    Workbooks(this_file).Activate
    Next x
End Sub