therber2

Folks,

Without really explaining what I do for a living (not sure its relevent), I wanted to explain both a bug I have been experiencing as well as the typical overall workspace I'm using:

First of all, I have Excel 2016 now and I use 'Excel.exe /x' in Windows 10's 'Run' prompt to have open, currently, 11 instances of excel; each intance will only ever have one single Workbook open on it and my workbooks average about a 5,000 KB file size.

THE ISSUE: some of the files (typically files that are 5k KB to <20k KB in size will give me this issue where a cell won't select on any sheet unless I double click it....seems sort of like I have to 'wake the workbook up.' Also, just clicking between sheets has the same issue: that is, it'll only do anything if I double click...a single click doesn't wake it up.

Now....I do have files open up to over 20,000 KB large that DO NOT do this...I'm not totally sure that rules out the idea that my files having issues are just too large, but it may. I've run file inspector on these problematic files and really decreased file sizes, but there seems to be some corruption.

ALSO, I mentioned that I am on Excel 2016 now. I was on Excel 2003 before this and don't remember dealing with so many little bugs. What do you guys think about down grading my version of Excel?

Any other thoughts?

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
With SDI why do you need the separate instances of Excel?
That will only cause more resources to be used to handle each independent session.

Upvote 0
With SDI why do you need the separate instances of Excel?
That will only cause more resources to be used to handle each independent session.

In order to multitask while 1-2+ minute macros or calculations are processing on another file.
I don't know what 'SDI' is.

Other thing is: if one workbook crashed, it doesn't take them all down. Just that one...