How to stop table from loading

Will85

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am new to power query, I have 8 tables loaded. I accessed Power Query through Excel. As far as I can tell the only way to save a file is to close and load.

At this point I am just testing/experimenting as I get comfortable with Power Query. I really just want to be able to close the workbook and come back to it where I left off with my testing/experimenting/filtering without having to load the data into the workbook.

When I right click on any of the Queries I have no option to deselect Enable Load, I dont even see Enable Load. I see: copy, paste, delete, rename, duplicate, reference, move to group, move up, move down, create function, convert to parameter, advanced editor, properties.

Additionally, I have utilized the merge queries as new function to create a new table, can I delete the original tables/queries or will that break my new query?

Finally, I am loading into Excel to QC my work because I am also new to PowerBI. But, I eventually want to get my finalized query into powerbi. Is there a way to copy a query from PowerQuery Excel to PowerQuery PowerBI? I am not sure how to phrase that, since I know PowerQuery is its own thing, but I cannot access it without loading the data first into one or the other Excel or PowerBI.

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
Here is what you'll want to do to just make it a Connection rather than loading the data.
1715960129843.png

As for Power Query to Power BI. You can do 1 of 2 (or more) things. 1, Power BI has a Query Editor that is just like Power Query in Excel, so you can copy and paste into there. 2 (which is what I do), use Power Query Excel to create all of the sub processes I need completed and then link to the Power BI for published reporting/metrics.