@If

Jafwiz

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I am not very good at Excel and this Forum has helped me in the past so i am asking another question. I have a file that is created automatically for our Bar Code software and i have to modify the file before i can use it. It has a column with a cost and every cell has a different cost. Some of the cells need to be modified. Example If the cell says $8.99 I need it to be $9.99. The dollar signs do not show on the sheet just shows 8.99. I know there must be a way to do this faster than one cell at a time copy and paste.

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
Welcome to the Board!

Why not just do a Find/Replace (CTRL+F), finding 8.99 and replacing with 9.99?
You can apply it to the whole sheet (or column) at once, instead of just one cell at a time.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

Why not just do a Find/Replace (CTRL+F), finding 8.99 and replacing with 9.99?
You can apply it to the whole sheet (or column) at once, instead of just one cell at a time.
That would work thanks for the reply but to go further we have to do this on a regular basis is there a way to have those number saved in a template to use on the next file? What i am asking is if every sheet has 8.99 to 9.99 and then it has 10.99 to 12.99 and 11.99 to 12.99 and so on, what is the fastest way?

Upvote 0
It is possible, but it needs to be well thought-out, i.e. so if you have one that changes 8.99 to 9.99 and another that changes 9.99 to 10.99, you do the second one first, or else you will end up ultimately changing the 8.99 ones to 10.99.

Do you have a list of all the values to change (and what to change them to)?
Could you show me that?
What sheet/range do these values appear in?

And what sheets/ranges do the values you want to replace appear in?

Upvote 0