Importing CSV files to Access

Shakil

Hello,

I am trying to upload 100+ csv files into MS Access, I am a amateur in VBA, could i possibly have some help writing the code?

The file location is, D:\Users\UKVIV00003\Desktop\Clients, the file format i need to import is csv, and i require all fields to be imported.

Also, what is the maximum amount of rows allowed in access,
Any help would be much appreciated.

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Have you tried creating a macro for importing one of the CSV files?

If you get that working you could convert it to VBA and add further code to import multiple CSV files.

What that code will be is hard to tell without knowing more about your setup, eg are all the CSV files in the same folder, have they all to be imported to one table etc.

As for a maximum no of rows (records), there isn't really a set amount for that but there is a limit for the amount of memory a table can take up.

Each record (row) consists of multiple fields, each of those fields will take up a certain amount of memory so the maximum no of rows kind of depends on the no of fields, the date types etc.

Upvote 0
Hi Norie,

I am trying to import all the fields from multiple csv files in the following folder "D:\Users\UKVIV00003\Desktop\Clients"

I have set up the import template, however am struggling with finding the import feature on the macros.

I would ideally like all of the data imported into one table if possible.

Thanks for all your help!

Upvote 0