Importing Excel Spreadsheet (same data) from different days

Newaccessuser

Hello - i am new to access and i need some help. I am working with a custom UI tool that creates an Excel extract upon request. I run this excel report daily to perform calculations on changes. I have past excel snapshots on my PC.

I want to use Access to store the daily data, that way i can run queries to show trends/ charts over time and changes of the data from date 1 to date 2 etc.

Can anyone help me import the same excel spreadsheet (from past archives) to build my database? The spreadsheet does not contain dates in the records. The only way to determine date is the naming convention of the saved Excel spreadsheet.

I have tried to append to my table (the first import of data) but i keep getting errors on key violations. if anyone can help me, i would really appreciate it!

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Here's code to import ALL excel files from a folder to a table.
1. link an excel file that will be a permanent import file name. "\\server\FOLDER\ImportFile.xls" (replace w your file)
2. build a query "qaImportXLfile" that will import the linked file into the target table.
3. run the sub below
It will scan the entire folder, copy the next file to the standard import file: IMPORTFILE.XLS. then run the append query.
If your dates are only in the filename, it would be easier to open the excel file, put the date on every record and save before begining

the import.

Code:
Public Sub ScanAllFilesInDir(ByVal pvDir)
Dim vFil, vTargT
Dim i As Integer
Dim fso
Dim oFolder, oFile
Dim vSrc
const kTARG = "\\server\FOLDER\ImportFile.xls"

On Error GoTo errImp
If Right(pvDir, 1) <> "\" Then pvDir = pvDir & "\"

sTbl = "xlFile"
Set fso = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set oFolder = fso.GetFolder(pvDir)

For Each oFile In oFolder.Files