ISO: Free VBA tutorials

Johnny C

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I've been asked to train some co-workers in VBA. They have no knowledge of VBA at all (except 1 chap), and can't edit code. I have little experience of training and what I do have is limited to people who already knew a lot about Excel (and that wasn't VBA).

First they need the basics - editting a macro, sub structure, basic object and data types. They need to learn to programme to interact with data on a worksheet, the three simple process types (assignment, loops, conditional statements).

What else would I need to consider?

I know that in the 2hour slot I've been given the first 10 things will be remembered and the rest forgotten probably (there will be follow-up classes to firm that up) but I'll give them a simple automation exercise to do

Are there any online resources I could use as a basis? I've got an old John Walkenbach book CD which I'll have a look at but I think that the exercise will need to be tailored to subjects with which they are familiar (retail banking).

Any advice gratefully received

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Here are a few of places to start...

http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=339643&page=2
http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=352116
http://www.functionx.com/vbaexcel/index.htm
http://www.anthony-vba.kefra.com/vba/vbabasic1.htm
http://www.tushar-mehta.com/excel/vba/beyond_the_macro_recorder/index.htm

They need to learn to programme to interact with data on a worksheet, the three simple process types (assignment, loops, conditional statements)

Specifically for the above look at DataPig Technologies

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thanks - plenty of stuff for me to look at here!

Upvote 0