ISO: Free VBA tutorials

Johnny C

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I've been asked to train some co-workers in VBA. They have no knowledge of VBA at all (except 1 chap), and can't edit code. I have little experience of training and what I do have is limited to people who already knew a lot about Excel (and that wasn't VBA).

First they need the basics - editting a macro, sub structure, basic object and data types. They need to learn to programme to interact with data on a worksheet, the three simple process types (assignment, loops, conditional statements).

What else would I need to consider?

I know that in the 2hour slot I've been given the first 10 things will be remembered and the rest forgotten probably (there will be follow-up classes to firm that up) but I'll give them a simple automation exercise to do

Are there any online resources I could use as a basis? I've got an old John Walkenbach book CD which I'll have a look at but I think that the exercise will need to be tailored to subjects with which they are familiar (retail banking).

Any advice gratefully received

What's programming experience? Alas I just found the VBA editor one day and started playing, hence why my code can be, at best, a bit flaky at times :confused:

In my favour though places like this exist which I've doubt provide more help than anyone got 20-30 years ago.

Dom

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
You can say that again!