Link Worksheet Change Event to Button

kristinh

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am new to VBA code. I wrote a worksheet change event that copies rows from one tab to another based on whether there is a Y is a certain column. It works great, but it is slow. I would like to modify the code so the rows are copied over upon click of a button instead of each change... but I don't know where to begin or how to assign a button to this?

This is my worksheet:

1714768110197.png

This is my code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.CountLarge > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Target.Column <> 6 Then Exit Sub
If Target = "Y" Then
Range("A" & Target.Row).Resize(, 5).Copy Sheets("GP Import").Cells(Sheets("GP Import").Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1)
End If
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
End Sub

(Note that the button Generate Accounts is not actually doing anything at this point)

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Below is a revised version that replaces the event macro.
VBA Code:
Option Explicit
Sub Update_If_Y()
    Dim i     As Long
    Dim lr    As Long
    lr = Cells(Rows.Count, 6).End(xlUp).Row
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
    For i = 12 To lr
        If Cells(i, 6) = "Y" Then
            Range("A" & i).Resize(, 5).Copy Sheets("GP Import").Cells(Sheets("GP Import").Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Offset(1)
        End If
    Next i
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub
Keep in mind that when it starts, unlike before, the macro will process all rows where it finds a Y, even if it has been run before. Instead, the event macro processed each row only once, and only when a Y was entered.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Solution