Looping & Writing Through Variable Rows & Columns

wildmini

Hi Everyone,

My first post here, but not the last - I've recently (through work) started getting involved in some excel VBA work, I've had some experience with VBA at uni but not much, more so with Fortran. So I understand generally how things work, but am struggling with syntax.

Anyway, what I want to do is create a large scheduling type spreadsheet. In order to achieve this, I need to use a lot of statements that can write dates, numbers, values etc. to different rows and columns. At the moment, what I want to do is to (for example) write today's date in the first cell (A1) and then write the next day's date in the next column (B1) and then the next, and so on, until the whole top row basically has a list of dates. I will then use the same type of pricnciple to write into the spreadsheet numbers and schedule information based on user inputs.

Anyway, my problem is, I'm having trouble writing out a date to each column. Normally, embedded within the loop structure, I'd use the Sheets.Range("A1").Value = whatever, is this the right output method? And what do I need to replace "A1" with to cycle through rows and columns when outputting values?

Additionally, I'm using a variable simply named "counter" and using Do While counter <= EndDate (which will be the last date defined by the user) because I don't know what dates the user will input and therefore don't have a set range to work with. Does this sound like the best way of going about this?

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
VBA is a bit different to FORTRAN.