Need help making a Macro to find and replace

dbouton

Hi. I am needing assistance in creating a macro to find and replace contents of cells from one sheet to another. Sheet 1 contains the data I want to put into Sheet 2. Sheet 1, in short, contains a schedule for a person. I want to find in the log list of schedules in Sheet 2 the schedule for the person (Name is in Sheet 1, Cell A5) and replace their record in Sheet 2 with what is in Sheet 1. Can someone assist, please. I am just learning Macros and cannot figure it out.

Sheet 1, Row 5 A through P

NameTitle8:0012:008:0012:008:0012:008:0012:008:0012:00OFFOFFOFFOFF

<tbody>
</tbody>

Sheet 2, A through P
Some NameTitle8:0012:008:0012:008:0012:008:0012:008:0012:00OFFOFFOFFOFF
Some Other NameTitle9:0013:009:0013:00OFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFF
NameTitle8:0012:00OFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFF

<tbody>
</tbody>

^ Lets just say that the third row above is what I want to replace with Sheet 1, Row 5 B through P, but it can be anywhere in the list.

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Hi,
Try this out under a command button.
Dim rng As Range
For Each rng In Sheets(2).Range("B5:B1000").Cells
If rng.Value = Sheets(1).Range("B5").Value Then
Sheets(2).Range("D" & rng.Row & ":P" & rng.Row).Value = Sheets(1).Range("D5:P5").Value
End If
Next
MsgBox "Done!", vbInformation

Regards.
Karim

Upvote 0
Hmm... this doesnt work. All that happens is the "Done" information box pops open. When I check Sheet 2, nothing has changed...

Upvote 0
I am not sure you are doing the right thing.
This code expects the following:
In sheet1, Cell B5 contains the Person's name,C5 its title, D5:P5 contain its schedule.
In Sheet2, Range B5 Thru B1000 Contain the list of all your people, Column C their respective Titles, Columns D thru P their respective schedules.