Primary Key and Linking Table Data

dunlop407703

Hi all,

I'm just starting out with Access and I think I'm at about the point were I know enough to be dangerous but not enough to really achieve anything.

I thought I understood how this works but apparently not quite.

I have 3 tables, tCollar, tSite, tSurvey, all 3 tables have different primary keys, but also share some fields as I will try to define below.

Table PK Shared Fields
tCollar BOREID BOREID,SITEID,TENEMENT
tSite SITEID BOREID,SITEID,TENEMENT
tSurvey ID BOREID,SITEID,TENEMENT

The tables are linked as below:

Table1 Table2 PK FK
tCollar tSite BOREID BOREID
tCollar tSurvey BOREID BOREID
tSite tSurvey SITEID SITEID

I may need some help on my database design here but basically I want that if I add a new item into the BOREID field in tCollar, it automatically adds a new row with the same data as I add in the tCollar table in both the tSite and tSurvey tables. I though that if I have referential integrity enforced and cascade update it would do this but apparently not. Beyond this if I add a SITEID in the tCollar table I want it to update to the other tables as well.

I've looked around heaps and I'm starting to think that to do this I'll need to use a form to update my data rather than just direct entry into the tables and then run queries or similar to force updates on other tables? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Without benefit of some meaningful data or explanation of how these are related, all I can offer is that it looks all wrong. Do you really have BOREID and SITEID in a table more than once? I thought this was not possible. Some would also have BOREID in the "parent" table, but call the related field in some other table BoreIDFK or BoreID_FK to denote that it is a foreign key whose primary field is in some other table.