Problem: 1st, 2nd, 3rd most common text

nickmontreal

Hi all,

I have a home made database of client information and working to create meaningful statistics with it. No doubt I will continue to post my questions on the forum as I am an Excel Novice. Here is the current problem:

Trying to find 1st, 2nd, and 3rd most common text in a column. Currently using this array formula to find MOST common text without issue. =INDEX(O7:O9998,MATCH(MAX(COUNTIF(O7:O9998,O7:O9998)),COUNTIF(O7:O9998,O7:O9998),0))

However, every formula I use to find 2nd and 3rd most common text create errors. Please help!

Many thanks,

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
nickmontreal, Good evening.

Maybe someone will provide a better solution making good use of Excel's statistical functions.

It may be that also appear a good solution in VBA Excel.

I'm sorry, but this solution here is not very elegant, but by my tests it worked.

Perhaps you can use it until some better formula.

They are array formulas.
Attention to the use of the cell of the above formula in the subsequent formulas.

Try to do: (ARRAY Formulas)
T1 --> =INDEX(O7:O9998, MATCH(LARGE(COUNTIF(O7:O9998, O7:O9998), 1 ), COUNTIF(O7:O9998, O7:O9998), 0))

T2 --> =INDEX(O7:O9998, MATCH(LARGE(COUNTIF(O7:O9998, O7:O9998), COUNTIF(O7:O9998, T1) + 1 ), COUNTIF(O7:O9998, O7:O9998) ,0))

T3 --> =INDEX(O7:O9998, MATCH(LARGE(COUNTIF(O7:O9998, O7:O9998), COUNTIF(O7:O9998, T1) + COUNTIF(O7:O9998, T2) + 1 ), COUNTIF(O7:O9998, O7:O9998) ,0))

Is that what you want?
I hope it helps.

Upvote 0
Truly appreciate the help - BUT - ultimately unsuccessful. Each entry produces the same text.