Question about variables & public variables

Silverback1992

Hello All,

So I wanted to change the way I create macros usually (I'm no expert but want to be one), and decided that I want to declare my variables once as public if I use them in multiple modules and subs.

And I had an example like this:

Code:
Option Explicit

'Variables only here

Public wsP, wsA, wsR, wsF, wsB, wsUn As Worksheet

Public LRP, LRA, LRR, FDC, x As Long

Sub Variables()

Set wsP = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Payment Proposal")

Set wsA = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("AR")

Set wsR = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Result")

Set wsF = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Formatting Example")

Set wsB = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Buttons")

Set wsUn = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Units")

LRP = wsP.Cells(Rows.Count, 3).End(xlUp).Row - 1

LRA = wsA.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row - 1

LRR = wsR.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row

End Sub

And I started to call in this very sub to my other subs and it worked perfectly and I liked it. What came up though is that a variable like LRP or LRA or LRR can change while the macro is running - for example at the beggining it is 1 and later on it is 10. In order for my macro to know that I want to use the 10 not the 1 I had to call in the sub again.

What I would loved is a macro where I declare my variables, and the macro automatically "knows" if the value of that variable changed.

So I decided to think about this for a sec and wrote the following one:

Code:
Option Explicit

Sub newdawn()

Dim LR As Long

LR = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row

ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(LR + 1, 1) = "Test"

ThisWorkbook.Sheets("sheet1").Range(Cells(6, 1), Cells(10, 1)) = "###"

ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(LR + 1, 1) = "Test02"

End Sub