"RANKIF" using SUMPRODUCT with dynamic range help

millawitch

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all,

I'm new to the MrExcel forum and this is my first post. :)

I have a "RANKIF" formula using SUMPRODUCT:

=SUMPRODUCT(--($B4=$B$4:$B$100),--($F4<$F$4:$F$100))+1

which works fine. At the moment "F" is the last column, but the table will expand to the right so the last column reference will always change. In other words, $F4<$F$4:$F$100 can change to $G4<$G$4:$G$100, $H4<$H$4:$H$100, etc and I want the formula to always look for data in the last column.

How do I make it work in this scenario?

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
Hi and welcome to Mr Excel Forum,

Assuming there is a header in the last column, in row 3, and it is Scores (adjust to suit) maybe this can work

=SUMPRODUCT(--($B4=$B$4:$B$100),--(INDEX($A$4:$Z$100,ROWS($1:1),MATCH("Scores",$3:$3,0)) < INDEX($A$4:$Z$100,0,MATCH("Scores",$3:$3,0))))+1

<INDEX($A$4:$z$100,0,match("scores",$3:$3,0))))+1
copy down

M.</INDEX($A$4:$z$100,0,match("scores",$3:$3,0))))+1

Upvote 0
Hi Marcelo,

Thanks for your input. At the moment I'm just starting to build this database but it will be converted into a Excel 2007 table, and you can't have column headers with repeated names, so this wouldn't work. :(

I tried to test your formula, but I didn't understand why the INDEX used $A$4:$Z$100,ROWS($1:1) if my table headers are in row 3 and data starts in row 4 (the RANKIF formula is in column A). Also, the last INDEX doesn't seem to be referencing a range, but I might be wrong.

I can't have VBA, but if adding helper cells makes it easier, then perhaps is the way to go.

I've tested with 2 helper cells on the side

H
9 6 =MAX(COUNTA($A4:$KN4))
10 $F$4 =ADDRESS(ROW($B4),$H$9)