Replacing values in a table column using a custom function

joel_h

I'm new to Power BI and Power Query in Excel (right now I'm working in Excel 2016). When working with the Advanced Query Editor, I have learned I can invoke custom functions I've built in the M Query language, so they run on columns in a table and generate a new column that holds the results of the function. This would be using Add Column -> Invoke Custom Function.

However, is it possible to invoke a custom function on an existing row, which as I can invoke Format operations like Trim and Clean, without creating a new column?

See the image reference below that I hope explains my question a better...

Essentially I'm trying to understand if its possible for me to invoke a custom function I've written such as NormalizeWorkPhone, on a column, without going through the intermediate steps of running the function via Add Column -> Invoke Custom Function, which would add a new column (and where I then would have to remove the original column, if I just wanted to keep a single column based on the resulting values of my function).

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
Re: Replacing values in a table column using a custom functino

I would never say never, however I Think it would be tough. Here are my thoughts. When you write a function you need to pass a starting object into the function. Normally this is the table that is displayed on the screen as at the previous step. If you wanted to return that same table that you start with, but with one column that has been transformed, you would need to have your function reproduce the other columns first and then transform the specific column too. This seems like a lot of work for no net final value.