Some Guidance please

JeffGrant

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a java API that downloads and combines csv files from a data site, ready for import into excel.
Basically, the API gets a particular file, then loops through all of the lines in the file to pull down the relevant data for the day.

The data suppler also supplies the data as json files and they are making noises about stopping the supply of the csv files.

With PQ, i can see there are many videos about pulling a single data file with a known URL, but i have not seen anything that would effectively loop through an input list to create the URL as an input variable.

Is this possible?

I am a real novice with PQ, and a little above novice with VBA, so I can grab the jist of it without claiming be a professional. so I do understand the technical parts of what i am asking here.

I look forward to hearing from your guys soon.

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
Certainly much easier with JSON data. I don't know the exact URL pattern you have, but it should be taking an index number, or maybe an id, or a string as a parameter. The following sample basically shows how I would get data for each URL that I have (or generated as in the sample), add it as a new column, and then transform it. Look at each step to see the details.

This is just to give an idea. In the real world, it wouldn't be very efficient to make a single call for each entity for hundreds of rows, but it depends on the data size, and how it is served by the API.

Power Query:
let
    // Create a list of index numbers to be used as the query value in the API URL
    Index = {1..10},

// Generate a list of URLs from the index numbers 
    URLs = List.Transform(Index, each "https://jsonplaceholder.typicode.com/posts/" & Text.From(_)),

// Create a table from the URL list