Sorting data validation with VBA

ddoyle67

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am pretty new to using macros in my workbook to try and speed up using it. I have a data validation list (C2:C97) called "Description" that has 66 permanent items (C2:C67) that are alphabetized in it and another 30 items (C68:C97) that are added to the list via input on another sheet. When those 30 items don't have an item in the cells, they do have a formula, which returns a 0. What I would like to do is have that group(C2:C97) to automatically re-alphabetize its self when one of those 30 blank cells gets new data but to ignore the blank cells and to keep them at the end of the list. I have a code to alphabetize the list but its only working manually and it puts all the blank or 0 cells at the top. Any help with writing this code would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
which group should re-alphabetize
(C2:C67), (C68:C97) or (C2:C97)
You can put your code

Upvote 0
which group should re-alphabetize
(C2:C67), (C68:C97) or (C2:C97)
You can put your code

The entire group C2:C97. What I don't want to do is having to keep going down to say line 85,if that received a new item, and that item in it that starts with a D for example. Id like it to be with the D items in the permanent list when its is input. but leave the blank cells at the bottom. The Cells C68:C97 are not always used or filled when using the workbook sometimes a few are used or a lot depending on the project. hope that helps explain it better.

Upvote 0
I do not understand very well how you have your data.
Do you have fixed data (C2:C67), do they have a formula?
If the result of the formula is different from 0, you want the macro to convert those cells to values, that is, the formula no longer exists. If the formula equals 0, should the formula remain?

Upvote 0