Stock Trader break even formula needed

MaxxABillion

I am a new trader and I need an excel formula that will tell me the break even stock price I need to hit before I start taking profits. Below is the first example of a scenario

i) I buy 2000 units of Coca Cola Amatil Ltd (ASX:CCL) at $11.83/unit = $23,660
ii) My transactional costs to buy and sell is $9.99 each way, therefore a total of $19.98
iii) Calculating my break even costs:
($23,660+$19.98)/2000 = $11.84/unit
iv) Therefore I MUST sell my CCL stocks for at least $11.84/unit to break even.
If I sell for anything greater than $11.85/unit then I've made a profit, which is known as capital gains.

The second scenario applies to short selling a stock. Keeping with the same Coca Cola Scenario, the only change I will make is, instead of adding $19.98, I would subtract it from the total cost. This will give me the price that the stock would have to go down to in order for me to break even.

i) I sell 2000 units of Coca Cola Amatil Ltd (ASX:CCL) at $11.83/unit = $23,660
ii) My transactional costs to buy and sell is $9.99 each way, therefore a total of $19.98
iii) Calculating my break even costs:
($23,660-$19.98)/2000 = $11.82/unit
iv) Therefore I MUST sell my CCL stocks for at least $11.82/unit to break even.
If I sell for anything lower than $11.82/unit then I've made a profit, which is known as capital gains.

What I need is two separate formulas that I can use to calculate my break even points. Any help that you all can provide will be greatly provided.

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
I'm quite sure that the transactional costs that you have mentioned are only the minimal ones and transactional costs in general will be based on % of your transactions' value.

Upvote 0