Unique values for specified range

aboodbata

I have a master sheet with thousands of rows. This sheet is basically the mother sheet where other sheets will be taking their data from. Let's take the following mother table for example:

Now I have another sheet which is exclusively for musical events. The table looks like this:

Basically, what I need is a formula in A3, that will extract only unique musical events from the mother sheet.

I know this can be achieved using a pivot table, but I prefer the formula method, which would probably involve index and match.

Thank you.

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
I can't see your images (blocked at work). However it's straightforward with formulae. You need a helper column. In that column look for the value in the column where it's identified as a unique musical event.

Say your Master sheet helper column is K, from row 2 down
Code:
=IF( {see if it's a unique musical event}, MAX($K$1:$K{Row - 1})+1,"")

Then in your other worksheet column A is 1,2,3...
in column B is
Code:
    =IFERROR(MATCH($A{row},'Master sheet.xlsx'!$K:$K,0)-1,"")
and in columns C onwards
Code:
    =IF($B{row}="","",OFFSET('Master sheet.xlsx'!$B$1,$B{row},0))

Where {row} is the row number of the cell and 'Master sheet.xlsx'!$B$1 is the top row of each of the columns you need from the master

No doubt you could use INDEX but I personally don't use it, it's easier to see if something goes wrong with OFFSET (and you can do a lot more).
The downside to OFFSET is that if your Master Sheet isn't open it will return # REF ! errors.

HTH

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I can't see your images (blocked at work). However it's straightforward with formulae. You need a helper column. In that column look for the value in the column where it's identified as a unique musical event.

Say your Master sheet helper column is K, from row 2 down
Code: