Using a trigger cell that will not truncate a number starting with zeros

hshort

Hi,

The situation that I am facing is that identifiers that are entered into a column are used to search a database and display data in other columns. However, when a number is entered that starts with a zero, excel automatically truncates the number to omit the zeros.

I am attempting to use a trigger so that once a number is entered into a cell and a different cell is selected, excel will 'force' the cell to remain the same, if that makes sense. I'm not sure if this would be accomplished by storing it as a text or another method, and I have very little experience with VBA so any input would be appreciated. The basic code that is in place right now is as follows:

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
'MsgBox Target.Value
Application.EnableEvents = False
Target.Value = Target.Value & " please help"
Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

This was set up by another coworker and just adds "please help" to any cell that is changed. Is it possible to add a ' before the value in the cell so that the number starting with zero would be stored as text and remain the same?

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
hshort,

Welcome to the forum.

If purely identifiers then can you not just format relevant cells or whole column as Text?
Then delete the event code.

Hope that helps.

Upvote 0
I don't think that will work because this will be part of an existing financial tool built in Excel that has restrictions including formatting of columns. I may be able to talk to the programmer and see if formatting would be possible.