VBA Code to Export a specific worksheet from a current workbook and create a new workbook

jmk15315

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2013
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a "Root" spreadsheet that I want to have the ability to export a single tab from this current workbook, create a new workbook and name it based on specific cells in the old workbook.
Being self-taught I believe this can be done, but I am at a loss as to how I would accomplish this.

Here is what I have tried, but can't get to work

Sub Button6_Click()

Dim saveAsFilename As Variant

Sheet1.Select
Sheet32.Visible = True
Sheet32.Select
Sheet32.Copy
Windows("G-XXXXX - WORKING FILE.xlsm").Activate
Sheet1.Select
Windows("Book1").Activate

saveAsFilename = Application.GetSaveAsFilename( _
InitialFileName:=Application.DefaultFilePath & "\" & "P" & Sheet2.Range("G11").Value & " - Job Information Form", _
FileFilter:="xls File (*.xls), *.xls", _
Title:="Save")

If saveAsFilename = False Then Exit Sub

End Sub

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Do you want to save the exported sheet in the same directory of the original workbook, or do you need choosing the destination path?

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply, The users of the spreadsheet will need to save the exported sheet into specific directories that they choose.

Upvote 0
Your code is basically working... but it misses the SaveAs command; indeed Application.GetSaveAsFilename returns the path and the name, so you need saving the file.
I also would not recommand using the CodeName to refer to your worksheet, in this context: I guess that your "master" workbook is added with new sheets as you go on to replace the one that is moved out to the new workbook, and they will be assigned new codenames; so you should modify the vba code to cope with the new worksheets codename.
Thus:

VBA Code: