VBA to add a new row in reference to a specific row/cell

mwilburn

I have a worksheet that has my companies action items and client action items. I have macros that add new copied rows with conditional formatting and formulas. The macros I have work but they add a new row under a specified row (18 and 29) which obviously causes issues if I add 4 or 5 rows to the top section.

In short, what I need to do is, instead of adding a row below Row 29, I need it to add a row in 2 rows below wherever the button is located. Is that possible?

Here is what I have, and yes, it's very simple. I am new to macros and VBA and all of this. Thank you for your time.

Sub AddNewRowAgendaTop()
'
' AddNewRowAgendaTop Macro
'

'
Rows("18:18").Select
Selection.Copy
Selection.Insert Shift:=xlDown
End Sub

Sub AddNewRowAgendaBottom()
'
' AddNewRowAgendaBottom Macro
'

'
Rows("29:29").Select
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Selection.Copy
Selection.Insert Shift:=xlDown
End Sub

Last edited:

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
Code:
Sub insertrows()
    ActiveCell.EntireRow.Offset(1).Resize(2).Insert Shift:=xlDown
End Sub

Upvote 0
This is almost there. It does paste a new row to the same place in reference to the cell and not to a designed row (which is awesome) but how do I get it to copy and paste in a row with the formatting?

Code:
Sub insertrows()
    ActiveCell.EntireRow.Offset(1).Resize(2).Insert Shift:=xlDown
End Sub

Upvote 0
After reading your first post again, I'm not certain I understand the goal. Perhaps you can restate the need in a different way ?

Upvote 0