VLOOKUP Question- Can't find a solution!

Amburrito

I've been trying to researching the net to try and solve this problem on my own for about a week now- I still have not figured it out yet! Hopefully someone else more experienced than I can tell me what I'm doing wrong!

What I've tried so far: Checking for spacing issues (there are none), checking to see if the names match either other with true/false (they all match as "true"), checking to see if my reference cells are the right format (text, vs general, vs number, etc), I've tried replacing the "@" symbol in the student IDs with a letter just in case it might be that- but that didn't work.

I'm a self-taught excel user, so I'm thinking it's probably something simple that I'm doing wrong.

I have alphanumeric student IDs (i.e. @0123456) that need to match to cells that contain the first and last names of the students (i.e. Sue Smith).

My referenced table array contains the alphanumeric IDs in column A, and student names in column B.

My other sheet contains student names that must remain in the order they're in, and I want the appropriate ID to match to the name. Perhaps there might also be another work around if VLOOKUP doesn't work for this?

Here's a sample formula: =VLOOKUP(B1,'Student IDs'!$A$1:$B$107,1,FALSE)

Please help!!

Excel Facts

Format cells as currency
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+4 to format cells as currency. (Shift 4 is the $ sign).
My referenced table array contains the alphanumeric IDs in column A, and student names in column B.

My other sheet contains student names that must remain in the order they're in, and I want the appropriate ID to match to the name. Perhaps there might also be another work around if VLOOKUP doesn't work for this?

Not sure if I understood your data setup.

See if this does what you need

=INDEX('Students IDs'!$A$1:$A$107,MATCH(B1,'Students IDs'!$B$1:$B$107,0))

Hope this helps

M.

Upvote 0
A
B
C
D
E
StudentID
Name
StudentID
Name
=VLOOKUP(B2,$D2:$E$7,1,FALSE)