Adding system time at request

Doug123

Board Regular
I am new to Access. I have created a table called "Bollards". I want the field to fill with the system time when requested by an operator similar to a drop dow box in Excel.

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells
Pressing Ctrl+* (asterisk) will select the "current region" - all contiguous cells in all directions.
Hi
I'm not sure about the Excel drop down box part but in your table design, provided your field is of the type 'date/time', then set the default value to Now() and set the format to 'Short Time' (or something similar to suit your needs).
HTH, Andrew :)

Upvote 0
Thanks for that. However, in Excel the system clock time inserted into a cell when I clicked tab or return on the cell. In Access I would like to tab to a time field and insert the system time. Any further ideas????

Upvote 0
Doug

Are you working with Excel or Access?

Upvote 0
I have this Excel macro to insert time on request. How can it be adapted to Access.

Private Sub Pass_Number_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)
Sub CellDate()
Dim MyTime
MyTime = Time
Value = MyTime
End Sub

Upvote 0
Ok,

Now, if you don't have a time field set up in Access, manually enter one into the table. Make sure the Time field is date and time and you have the proper format setup, i.e., medium time, etc.

Now, go into your form and select the Field List icon from the menu bar. Now you will see a small window appear. Select the Time field and drag it into your form. Once placed, right click on the Time field text box(what you just dragged over). Once you right click to view the properties, make sure you have selected the ALL tab from the right-click popup menu. Go to the Control Source property on the ALL tab and delete the Time name from the field and enter the following:

=Time()