Formula referencing previous sheet

chrismansell

Hi there I am after a formula to copy the contents of a cell in the previous sheet in a workbook, so that if I was to copy the last sheet in a workbook the formula would automatically reference the cell from the copied worksheet and so on if I copied tht one.

Hope this makes sense I have a lot of formulas referencing the previous sheet and everytime I copy this sheet to create a new sheet I have to change the sheet number in the formulas.

eg, in sheet 8 this formula get info from sheet 7 cel J30 ='7'!J30 when i copy the sheet to create a new one (Sheet 9) I would like the new formula to automatically be ='8'!J30.

Thanks in advance Chris

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
You can referrence the previous sheet name easily enough..

PrevSN = "Sheet" & Val(Mid(activesheet.codename,6,(len(activesheet.codename)-5)))-1

Upvote 0
Hi Again Im sorry but I am a bit of a beginner and I cant work out how to make this work could you perhaps put ='8'!J30 into it so I can see how it fits.

Cheers Chris

Upvote 0
Gotcha, No problem... here's simple little UDF to handle what ya need..

Right click on any worksheet tab and click on "VIEW CODE"

Place the following code into MODULE 1. (if it's not there just click INSERT and MODULE)

Code:
Function oldsheet(rng As Variant)
    Prevsn = "Sheet" & Val(Mid(ActiveSheet.CodeName, 6, (Len(ActiveSheet.CodeName) - 5))) - 1
    With Sheets(Prevsn)
        oldsheet = .Range(rng)
    End With
End Function

Now.. in your worksheet (J30) just put the following formula

Code:
=oldsheet("J30")