VBA Beginner - Confused, please help!

SeanL

I’m new to VBA and I’m having a few difficulties getting my head around some of the concepts (I have no other programming experience). I am using Excel 2002 Bible by Brian Underdahl and John Walkenbach as a reference. One example given in the book is as follows:

MsgBox ActiveSheet.Comments(1).Parent.Address

The explanation given is: Comments(1) returns the first Comment object in the Comments collection. The Parent property of the Comment object returns its container, which is a Range object. The message box displays the Address property of the Range.

It then goes on to say that the fact that a property can return an object is an important concept in VBA programming.

I’m having difficulty understanding this concept – can anybody explain it to me? Maybe the book I’m using is not the best available, especially for getting to grips with the basic fundamentals? Can anybody recommend a better book for beginners? :oops:

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
Lets try Irish way :biggrin:

Let say you go into Pub, than you see Pints (they are in Drawers), you pick up one of them (the first one you see) and you want to say where they are stored:

Pub.Pints(1).Parent.Address

"Pub" is main object - it stores everything - pints, tables, beer etc

"Pints" is collection of pints that are in Pub, but to let Excel know which Pint you want you have to use it's name or index number - that's why you say Pints(1) - it means first pint in collection of Pints

Than Pint have a Property called "Parent" - which is place where it belongs (or is stored, like comment is "stored" in Cell) - lets say "Drawer"

And than you ask for Address of that place (Drawer) - let's say it is "top Drawer"