ODBC connection questions

sschrupp

Board Regular
Hi everyone,

I've made a database that has a couple linked tables connected to our SQL servers. I had to create an ODBC connection on my PC in order to access them. When I sent a copy of the database to my co-worker to check out he can't access the ODBC because he doesn't have the same connections set up on his PC like I do.

I've never really dealt with ODBC connections before so I'm a total beginner when it comes to this. I'm assuming there's a way to have other users access a database on their own PCs without having to set up identical connections on each PC.

So what can you all tell me to help me out?

Thanks!
Shane

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Shane,

I have run into the same problem you are discussing, and I don't know if there is any way around setting up an ODBC connection on each computer. That is what I ended up doing.

I would love to hear if there is a better way of doing it myself, but I don't know if there is.

Upvote 0
You *should* be able to get IT to set up a System DSN for the database. That way, it's possible for all users to get it without creating a DSN on each machine.

Denis

Upvote 0
Denis,

I am going to have to talk to my network guys here about that. What exactly is a System DSN? Is it something like a network level ODBC connection?

Upvote 0
Denis,

I looked at it a little more, and that is how I currently create the ODBC connection for each computer (use System DSN). I do this buy going to Administrative Tools -> Date Sources (ODBC) -> System DSN..., but this still requires us to do it on each computer.

Is there a different way to set it up so it is available to all computers without having to do it on each computer?

Upvote 0
Sorry, wild goose chase :oops: