Pulling data from external files

Ade

Hi all,

I have 12 external files (one per month) and need a quick way to pull these into a reporting book. I've used the following code...

Workbooks.Open FileName:= _
"J:\Manfin\MIS\New Reporting\MIS2\P200301.xls"
Columns("A:B").Select
Selection.Copy
Windows("MainReportingBook.xls").Activate
Sheets("P200301").Select
Range("A1").Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
Windows("P200301.xls").Activate
Call OpenClipboard(0&): Call EmptyClipboard: Call CloseClipboard
ActiveWindow.Close

However with 10000++ rows of data in each file, this is very very slow (approx 5 mins to update all 12 months).

As a complete newbie to vb, I started by recording then amending the code - but now I need some help!

Any quick fix ideas would be greatly appreciated. I found some code on ozgrid.com to extract data without opening the file - but couldn't get it to work - my fault as I wasn't sure which bits to overwrite with my own filenames etc etc.

Thanks in advance!

Ade

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
I forgot to mention - that code is obviously repeated 12 times (once per month!).

Cheers

Upvote 0
Hi.
What version of Office are you using?

You gave one example of where the imported data will go.

Sheets("P200301").Select
Range("A1").Select

Where will the other 22 remaining ranges be places?

Are there headers in your source workbooks columns? If so, which row. Which row does your data begin listing in the source books?

Tom

Upvote 0
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Excel 97

Data files are called eg. P200301 (for january), P200302 (for february) etc and the data is to be placed on a sheet of the same name within the reporting file.

Data files contain purely data, no headers, subtotals etc. It's data that has been dumped out by a separate application.

Hope this helps,

Rgds

Ade

Upvote 0