Best form of Incorporation for a consultant? C, S or LLC?

Lokai

Board Regular
In the USA what would be the best form of incorporation for a single person consultancy / application developer? C, S or LLC? I'm married with children if that's a factor.

It would help if you stayed at a Holiday Inn Express last night but any experiences & "amateur" advice would be appreciated.

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result
I'm a single person consultancy/application developer - first year full-time and am currently sole proprietor. I'm feeling out my income level before I upgrade. Course, I work with Bill and he handles all the legal stuff - techincally, he contracts me.
But, because of the legal issues (to protect yourself, mostly), it you're alone, you might want to consider going up to the next level - an LLC. If I understand correctly, the business becomes an entity - and you an employee. And if your business spends all its wages on employees, it's non-profit... I'm don't understand all of it - but it does offer a person more protection.

check out the irs site- it does have good info for starters - or your local sba.

The best part about having an LLC is it's free to obtain. ;)

Re: Best form of Incorporation for a consultant? C, S or LLC

The best part about having an LLC is it's free to obtain.
Not in California. $120 or so a year to the entity that represents you (we use www.legalzoom.com), and $820/year to the state for the annual filing fee. (But California IS NOT a business friendly state!)