Built-in Function or Add-in To Automate Data Transfer Workbook to Workbook?

hwbenlarson

Background: I apologize in advance for the lengthy background, but I am striving for clarity. I am a semi-retired outside contractor, sometime hired by a Software Publisher to receive data in Excel Format from one of their newly signed customers who previously had been using one of a dozen competitor database applications (each competitor with its own unique data structure, layout, and naming conventions). The new customers are not db savvy and the legacy vendors are far from cooperative, however, they will usually provide a dump of their data into Excel. That’s where I enter the picture.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
The Publisher provides me with their own “Excel Data Upload Template” which cannot be altered with respect to Column Titles and the respective sequence of those columns.
<o:p></o:p>
My tasks are to unify, manipulate and cleanse the legacy data set(s); and then to transfer the legacy data into the appropriate columns of the target Data Upload Template. I am pretty adept up through intermediate Excel Data Functions and working within the Menu Structure and have some working experience creating lengthy macros using Recorder and then editing to fine tweak.
My challenge is the repetitiveness of the final Transfer process. Each competitor may have different Titles, Columns not relevant, Columns out of sequence compared to my target Data Upload Template. I am so tired of re-inventing the wheel with each new data transfer. Cut and paste is so stone age and time consuming, even though I indeed have time I haven’t even used yet.