Calling Macros for whole worksheet from personal.xlsb

B-Man

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I currently have a personal.xlsb that opens whenever I open excel and was wondering if i had all my macro set in there and then just called them from the worksheet.
Is that a good idea? are there any cons to this?

Currently I have a master file that I open and when it saves its saved as a new file so if I edit a macro its only changing it for the master and any new file I have created... Not a big issues as normally its only keeping the older files as record keeping but sometimes the last few are still current. but sometimes i edit something and it breaks a macro and i might have 3 or 4 files that are current so I have to solve the issue and then update it into each of the files that are currently still active.

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
I currently have a C that opens whenever I open excel and was wondering if i had all my macro set in there and then just called them from the worksheet.
Is that a good idea? are there any cons to this?

In theory, you could do that, but only for standard macros, not event code, or userform code. You might have to tighten up your code to make sure there are no unqualified range, sheet, or cell references, but it should work. However, the personal macro workbook (personal.xlsb ) is for macros that only you can run. If you are going to send a workbook to someone else and want them to be able to run a macro, then the personal macro workbook does not work for that. And if you ever change PCs you need to make sure personal.xlsb gets copied over. Then there is the all-your-eggs-in-one-basket problem. If personal.xlsb contains mission-critical code, you will need to be sure you have backups.