Creatiing code to automate creating new w/sheet & copying selected data based on criteria

Werra2006

Hello all I am a complete newbie to VBA codes & I am trying to automate my spreadsheet to enable me to run my reports weekly without doing the tedious lookups & repeating the process. How it works is that I download the information from our system ie source data into the tab called detail. This worksheet starts from column B to AG. In this same worksheet my head office has legal entities (column E) for which reports have to be done separately. They are: INDL, ENV, DEFN, CONS,HALA, CIV, POL. So what I want is to create a separate report for each legal entity based on a condition that the voucher number in column P starts with SSA, SSR or MSB.

The report will be in a worksheet which I want created automatically named “CURRENT”. What I want is to copy from “DETAILS” column P into column A of “CURRENT”, B “DETAILS” into B “CURRENT”, C into C, S into D, then AB:AG into E:J Columns K & L of the “current” will need to be populated by doing a lookup of column A & return comments if any from the previous report (ie =iferror(VLOOKUP(A1,'180113'!$A$2:$L$16,12,FALSE),””).<o:p></o:p>
Points to note........data in details tab will have different rows every week & similarly the previous report. Could some geniuses crack the code and help this brother please. Thanks for your kindness.<o:p></o:p>

Last edited:

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Hi Werra2006,
While you are a newbie at VBA, this doesn't prevent you from useing the record function in Excel. A lot of people start off that way. Recording their actions into a macro, then doing a "step by step", function in VBA to view what the code does.