database for education

MrsH07

Hello I am a teacher (not ICT:confused:) and I need to devise a database which tracks whether pupils are; not expected to meet, on track to meet, have met, or exceeding their end of year target level - I want to show this through colour so that it is easy to decipher where pupils are making progress or not.
Each pupil has a different target, across different subjects each year and they make varied levels of progress each term (semester).

As you can probably guess I am completely new to excel so I am finding it a diffciult task.:(
I'm thinking that I could attribute a hidden numerical value to the actual value shown in the cell and that I could then use this hidden value to dictate whether the cell is coloured red, amber, green or blue. The levels run from 2c, 2b, 2a up to 8a. I'm thinking of attributing numerical values of 8,10, 12 etc.

Is this possible or is it simply too difficult for a novice like myself?

I greatly appreciate any help you can offer :biggrin:

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
I don't quite understand the solution you suggest. Also i don't really understand what the target level is, is this a number/grade? could you explain this further? But what you want is certainly not that advanced to do, it won't take much time to create.
What you need:
1. a table containing all the pupils (let's say column A), the level they are on now/or reached at the end of the semester (column B), the target level for each pupil (column C). This is the largest thing to do in the project, but I expect you already have a pupil list making this pretty easy.