Date time in SQL query

gmazza76

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Good afternoon,

I am trying to run a query from a data table in Access called "DataRaw" where "Field1" holds the date/time as text showing as
"VALUE=CS:20210809000032361" but I am having an error showing "Syntax error in string in query expression.

Apologies if this is an easy one I am fairly new to SQL

Code:
SELECT
format(right(field1,17, 'yyyy/MM/dd, hh:mm:ss) as DateStartTime
from DataRaw

;

thanks in advance
Gavin

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
If you cannot fix the field and its data so that it contains a proper date, I think you will have to use code to extract a date from 20210809000032361. Would only work if the string length and its format is constant. If you don't need the time portion it would be easier. I presume that the time you have there is almost 9:00 AM?

Upvote 0
The split on the txt would be 2021/08/09 is the date portion and the rest is hh:mm:ss.ss

I have used sql before to do this in an sql server, but never in Access and I am having a few issues.

Thanks

Upvote 0
You could modify this to suit the order of the year, month, day elements as you require (I have to get ready for a dental appt). Your query calculated field would call this function for every record; not sure if that will be an issue. For that you pass the field containing the string value in the function call. Don't know what data type you require, but this will return a string. Don't know if the CS: part is in the field or not (I assumed not). If it is, just modify the numbers passed to Mid function, but Left will have to be replaced with Mid to eliminate the CS:

Example, calc field is like
TheDateTime: ExtractTime([name of field containing the values])

VBA Code:
Function ExtractTime(TimeIn As String) As String