Excel v SAP

carlmack

A thought occurred to me and I was just wondering if there is anybody here who would like to knock it about ?

I’m a management accountant but currently mainly working as a supply chain consultant. Over the years I have been involved in many ERP implementations. I have also used spreadsheets since Lotus 123 v1 arrived on a single floppy disc.

I have seen companies benefit enormously from ERPs as they removed the drain of coping with fragmented systems and gained from a bank of built in functionality. However, each year the ERPs have grown, adding more functionality that I believe few understand and even fewer actually work out how to switch on.

Some years ago I strated to use big spreadsheets to try out solutions for a while, work out what we really wanted, then go look for a “proper” solution. Looking back, I think the biggest problem with spreadsheets was when you poured in the data, the calc came on, stayed on and stopped you going further.

Now we have more speed I am wondering if the scale is tipping. Maybe the new way forward is to have a very simple, robust and fast transactional system to do only the very basics (record the movements, print invoices etc) and to have Excel (+maybe Access) do the rest ??