Excel VBA Help required.

Loobc

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

To start off I'm a complete novice with Excel and VBA, I have recently signed up for some courses as I believe it could be invaluable for where I work and myself.

I'm given a large data set every day with unique IDs that I need to cross reference against an 2 external websites, this takes up hours upon hours of my time not to mention the RSI that will soon happen I have no doubt!

I'm looking to create something that will take this unique IDs put them into the websites I need to check and pull back the required information, I just have no idea where I would start.

Any ideas/assistance would be great!

All the best,
L

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Hello,

To start off I'm a complete novice with Excel and VBA, I have recently signed up for some courses as I believe it could be invaluable for where I work and myself.

I'm given a large data set every day with unique IDs that I need to cross reference against an 2 external websites, this takes up hours upon hours of my time not to mention the RSI that will soon happen I have no doubt!

I'm looking to create something that will take this unique IDs put them into the websites I need to check and pull back the required information, I just have no idea where I would start.

Any ideas/assistance would be great!

All the best,
L
Good Luck! I had a similar situation (many years ago), and I resorted to COBOL and a whole load of JCL. (Sorry to date myself, but that's the scope of the problem)!

At some point you will need to read, learn, mark and inwardly digest the inner workings of the HTTPRequest object. This is how you can programmatically interrogate a web-site, and retrieve data. The Excel/VBA part (apart from HTTPRequest) is fairly straightforward.