[Excel VBA] Problem with Excel Validation List

boyshawn

Hi all

I am pretty new to programming in vba. I need some coding help which I am not able to find the solution after I tried Googling for the solution.

Currently I have a self-defined type called category mapping. The type will be used to contain the items which I want to put as the option for the vadliation list. It looked as below:

Code:
Public Type categoryMapping
    messageKey As Long
    description As String
End Type

An example of the categoryMapping is to store gender codes, 6000 stands for Male, 6001 stands for Female.

Display of the Validation List
As I have all stored them in an array, displaying them is not easy. What I have done is as below:

Code:
'Validation drop down list for the whole row
If Has_Elements(mapping) Then
    Dim code As String
    Dim options() As categoryMapping

code = ""
    options = mapping

Dim j As Integer
    For j = LBound(options) To UBound(options)
        code = code & options(j).messageKey & ": " & options(j).description & ","
    Next j

With Range(Rows(7).Address).Validation    'TODO: Need to refactor
        .Add Type:=xlValidateList, _
        AlertStyle:=xlValidAlertStop, _
        Operator:=xlBetween, _
        Formula1:=code
        .InCellDropdown = True
        .InputMessage = "Please choose from of the following"
        .ShowInput = True
    End With
End If

Is there a easier to display them since I have already put all the item to be displayed into a array? Is it possible that I can call the array directly?

Use Cells
From the code above, it can be seen that I have use the address of the whole row to contain validation list, because actually what I want is the whole row, except the header cells to contain the validation list.

Code:
    With Cells(7,1).Validation    'TODO: Need to refactor
        Formula1:=code
        .InCellDropdown = True
        .ShowInput = True
    End With