Excel VBA- Viewing and Updating existing worksheet data with Excel UserForm with Dependent Comboboxes

charliechaz

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I’m new to excel VBA and I need some help with an excel workbook that houses requirements risk assessments. The assessments are completed but need to be analyzed overtime. The outcome of the analysis may prompt me to:
  • Edit existing requirements and assessments
  • Add new requirements and assessments
  • Deleted existing requirements
I’d like to perform these tasks via VBA as the ‘Form’ function in excel does not allow me to expand fields to display the entire content of a cell and more importantly, does not allow me to edit any existing values.

My Workbook has the following worksheets: ‘New_RRA’, ‘Data’ (used for calculated assessment cells) and a ‘Topics’ worksheet that was added to contain unique ‘Topic’ values.

My ‘New_RRA’ worksheet includes the following columns:

UserForm3.png

• Topic (Composed of 19 topics. Playing around, I added these in a separate worksheet (‘Topics’) but it may not be needed as I figured out how to extract unique values in my attempts of getting this to work in VBA. More on this later.)
  • URS_ID
  • URS_Description
  • Hazard
  • Hazard_Effects
  • Potential_Causes
  • Severity
  • Probability
  • Prevention Controls
  • Risk_Class
  • Detectability
  • Detection_Controls
  • Risk_Priority
  • Mitigation

UserForm Requirements:
  • Record View
    1. I would like to have a userform that would allow me to select the ‘Topic’ from a dropdown.
    2. Based on the topic selected, I want to see a listing of associated ‘URS_ID’s along with associated ‘URS_Description’s from a dropdown list. This will allow for the accurate selection of a requirement that needs to be analyzed. (Perhaps a scroll function would be adequate here)
    3. Based on the ‘URS_ID’ selected, I want the form to populate the ‘URS_Description’ field.